Despite my best efforts to nurture my sickly tomatoes, I came to the conclusion (with the aid of the Gardener’s World magazine and my dear friend Jean) that they were not wind damaged as suspected but blighted, so they had to go. I felt I was cheating by going to the garden centre to replace them with 4 lovely specimens. I was so spoilt for choice, I bought 4 different varieties: ‘Moneyspinner’, ‘Beefeater’, ‘Shirley’ and ‘Italian Plum’. I’m not sure it was worth the aggravation of growing them from seed, apart from the price of course!

Last year I planted one of those mint plants you get on the fruit and veg shelf in Asda. It provided us with lovely mint all year but did not survive the severe winter. Well, I say it didn’t survive, it did actually provide another few leaves but, once picked, that was it. Still, not bad for an Asda herb. When shopping for new tomatoes, I also picked up a couple of different mint plants, one is lemon mint and the other a black peppermint.

The garden is very green. I think this is what’s known as the ‘June gap’ when everything is just on the verge of flowering but very little is. My lovely salvia ‘Wendy’s Wish’ continues to flower profusely whilst there is just the hint of an emerging purple dahlia. I must admit I am finding the crocosmia quite thuggish in overshadowing its neighbours; probably not suited to my small garden.

I can’t begin to describe how thrilled I was to discover pea pods! I was unsure about the pollination of peas but have since found out that they are classed as self-pollinators as pollination takes place within the flower without the need for insects.

Since opening the mesh covers, the pea plants have gone mad. I have run out of twigs and supports for them so they are just hanging on to anything they can get their tendrils round.

I harvested my first perfect cabbage this week and gave it to my son, James.

The strawberries have provided another bowlful. I just hope they are as tasty and juicy as the last lot. Monty Don says that the best way to eat them is warm from the sun, sprinkled with white pepper. I haven’t tried the white pepper but they are certainly better when they have not been chilled in the fridge.

When visiting Powerscourt House and Gardens last week, Charlotte and I were fascinated by the candelabra primula on sale in the pavillion. Imagine my delight when Raewyn spotted one when visiting a little garden centre in High Legh. It is still in the pot but I am sure I will get at least 3 new plants from it. Raewyn also spotted 2 different geums after I admired her’s. It’s worth knowing what things look like when not in flower.

Agapanthus Alba Eryngium Osteospernum
Zanzibar Pink Bicolour
