Such glorious weather and two bank holidays has meant lots of time to spend in the garden. Everything is growing at an incredible rate and I feel I am losing control – if I ever had any!

A trip to Gordon Rigg in Todmorden with Jean saw the purchase of a lovely new potting tray with a handy shelf. Now I can keep the tables relatively clean.

Banking the potatoes up seems to have given them licence to grow.

One of the raspberry tubs is looking rather sickly so I have moved it out from beneath the damson tree.

On Jean’s advice, I dug up all the tulip bulbs and put them in big pots to die back. It has given me more room for planting and I don’t have to look at the boring foliage. I am wondering whether I should have done the same with the daffodils but they are still in place.

The clematis at the back of the front rockery is looking particularly splendid at the moment with beautiful lilac flowers as big as saucers.

 
 I couldn’t resist these pretty little aquilegia even though I know I could regret it later. Their names were irrestistible too – Winky Rose and Winky Double White.The veg bed is looking very healthy at the moment. The cabbages are doing well and the peas will soon need supporting. I just need to find out what a ‘pea stick’ is! The beetroot have been thinned out and the celery has been pricked out into individual modules. The salad leaves have germinated in a matter of days.  
