Only 4 of my original 9 cabbages remain. I blame myself as I can’t see any evidence of them having been nibbled. I think I must have damaged the stems as I planted them in the soil as the stems are just sheered off. The remaining 4 seem to be quite sturdy now and 11 new ones have been transplanted from tray to soil. The beetroots have been thinned out and some ‘cut and come again’ salad leaves sown.

I must have been too keen when planting my peas as the new ones are now growing and look healthy enough. Lorra brought me a little scarecrow who now sits watching over them with his little sign which says ‘grow seeds, grow!’

A cat seems to have taken a liking to my carrot bag and has on several occasions jumped into it and left several deposits. The young seedlings have been thrown around on several occasions now and I am hoping that the canes I have ‘planted’ will dissuade it from using my carrot bag as a toilet.

It took me nearly all day to prick out what seemed like a million leeks, I didn’t realise how reliably they would germinate. I have managed to give some away so I won’t have to plant them all into the soil. The pots at the front are Cosmos Sensation.

Most of the dahlias have pushed out new leaves and have been planted in the back of the border, just need to remember to buy some plant supports for them. For a while it didn’t look as if my black leafed dahlia was going to make an appearance but I needed to be more patient, it just took a little longer than the red ones.

Flowers are starting to appear on the strawberries.

It is very kind of J Parkers to send me free gifts but don’t they know I haven’t got any room left? Two free camellia ‘Lady Campbell’ and ‘Debbie’ are in pots and 6 free echinacea are still waiting. I found good homes for the 100 gladioli!

6 verbena bonariensis have replaced those lost over the winter.

The orchid continues to flourish.

