This month is very dry and we have a hose-pipe ban.

The red climbing rose and buttercup rose are both in full bloom (I didn’t kill it after all!). Fuschias, iris, lillies, dahlias and gaura are all putting on a beautiful show.

Steve widened the left-hand border and Jean named it the Chelsea Garden (rather tongue in cheek!).

Jean and I once again visited the RHS flower show at Tatton Park and came home laden with new plants. These included eryngium, some lovely ladybird poppies and Jean bought me a present of some bunny tail grass.

I’m not sure when to harvest these vegetables especially as we are going on holiday to China for 3 weeks at the end of the month. I  pulled up some carrots just out of curiousity and was thrilled to find them plump and straight.

My sister, Lorra, gave me a courgette plant which I have grown in a pot on the patio. It has produced endless courgettes which I have tried to make use of but to be perfectly honest, I just don’t like them. Lots of tomatoes are appearing on the hanging basket.

